• Topic 主题 トピック Topic Topic
  • Sign in

Merging Customer Profiles

 

You may have two or more customer profiles that refer to the same customer. You can merge these profiles into one single profile, helping you manage your customers more effectively.

 

In This Article

 


 

Why Merge Customer Profiles

Merging customer profiles can help you with the following operations:

  • Retrieve the transaction history of the same customer.
  • Organize scattered customer transaction records.
  • Minimize the recorded customer count to reduce charges for apps that are based on the number of customers.

 


 

Which Information Will be Merged

The following information will be merged into one single customer profile:

  • Orders
  • Draft orders
  • Last name
  • First Name
  • Customer No. (uid)
  • Customer status (including Registered, Invited, Not invited, and Black list)
  • Gender
  • Birthday
  • Address
  • Email
  • Phone No.
  • Email subscription status (including Subscribed, Not subscribed, Unsubscribed, Awaiting confirmation, and Not set)
  • SMS subscription status (including Subscribed, Not subscribed, Unsubscribed, and Not set)
  • Last login date
  • Account creation date
  • User source
  • Tags
  • Timeline activities
  • Note
  • Discount codes

If any information conflicts between two customer profiles, you can cancel the merge, adjust the information on the customer detail page, and then proceed with the merging.

 


 

How to Merge Customer Profiles

Follow these steps to merge customer profiles:

  1. From your SHOPLINE admin panel, go to the Customers module.
  2. In the customer list, select the customer whose profile you want to merge with another one. This customer will be referenced as Combined customer.
    3.2.png
  3. On the customer details page, click Other actions > Combine customers in the upper right corner.
    3.3.png
  4. In the Combine customers page, search for another customer profile in the Find consolidated customers section by entering any of the following information: 
  • Last name
  • First name
  • Email
  • Phone No.
    3.4.png
  1. Select the customer profile you want to merge. This customer will be referenced as Combine customer.
    3.5.png
  2. The page displays details after merging. In the Combination details section, review the merged and discarded information.
  3. (Optional) In the Preview after merging section, click Edit to select the contact information for the surviving customer. Any unselected information will be discarded and can’t be retrieved.
    3.7.png
  4. (Optional) In the Combination Details section, click Edit for the information you want to modify, and then click Complete to save the changes.
    3.8.png
  5. Click Combine, and then click OK.

If you want to merge multiple customer profiles into one single profile, please repeat the merging process for each additional profile.

 


 

Limitations for Merging Customer Profiles

Be aware of the following considerations before merging customers:

  • Once customer profiles are merged, the action can’t be reversed. Click the Cancel button if you change your mind.
  • If a customer profile includes notes, the combined notes must not exceed 1,000 characters (including spaces).
  • If a customer profile includes tags, the combined tags must not exceed 200.
  • When merging customer profiles, the email or SMS subscription status of the Combine customer will be applied to the merged customer profile.
  • Customers will not receive a notification when their profiles are merged.

If you find that some customers may not be eligible for merging when you search for them, specific reasons will be displayed under these customers. Reasons why a customer may not be eligible for merging include the following:

  • Merging is already in progress and unable to make a new merge.
  • There are discount codes, which cannot be combined.  (both customer profiles have associated discount codes)
  • There are gift cards, which cannot be combined. (both customer profiles have associated gift cards)
  • There are product subscriptions, which cannot be merged. (either customer profile has active subscriptions)
  • B2B customers, cannot be merged. (either customer is a B2B customer)
  • Has meta fields, cannot be merged. (either customer has been applied with metafields)
  • Editing is scheduled or in progress and cannot be merged. (either customer is in the process of being deleted or has requested deletion)
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments